Skip navigation

Jim Jones talks to Complex’s Joe La Puma from his recording studio for a feature interview on complex.com. In this interview Jones talks about his upcoming mixtape The ghost of Ric Porter, Jay-Z vs. 50 Cent, his feelings or lack thereof on his former protegé Max B getting sentenced to 75 years in prison, argues over the impact of his hit “Ballin'” in the last decade. 

Here are a few of the highlights:

Complex: So the Ghost of Rich Porter mixtape—how long have you been working on it?

Jim Jones: Well it started as a mixtape for the street. I’ve been working on it probably for like two months now. I got over 40 songs, and we had to sit and break them shits down. It started becoming harder and harder, and there was an album there and people started offering me money for it. It went from something I was going to give away for free to something somebody was going to pay me to give away for free. So, in the end, I’m still going to give it away free.

Complex: Why do you think he’ll respond to you, but he won’t respond to 50?

Jim Jones: I don’t know. Jay’s a smart dude too, man. Sometimes I guess you respond to certain things that keep your ass in the game. We damn sure definitely playing in the same ball game when it come to that. But if I was 50—they got some money over there. If I was 50, I’d run down and snuff the shit out of him. That’s what I would do. I would go get some fly-ass security, back his security down on some football shit, and just run down on him, snuff the shit out him. But I ain’t got a hundred million and shit like that. So we couldn’t pull that stunt. Now that’s publicity.

Complex: How do you feel when Max gets sentenced to 75 years?

Jim Jones: I have no feelings. I’m a numb to that. You dig?

Complex: Nothing at all? 75 years is a long time…

Jim Jones: Oh, the number? The number, the number is crazy for anybody. That number is a hell of a fuckin’ number. Know what I mean?

For the full interview click Complex.com

Leave a Reply

