Skip navigation

 

Memphis Bleek chopped it up with HipHopDX.com and spoke on his loyalty to Jay-Z, his decision to turn down a deal on Roc Nation to go out on his own and build his own empire.

DX: But you know we gotta clarify, why didn’t Bleek and everybody [remaining at Roc-A-Fella as of 2008] make their way over to Roc Nation?

Memphis Bleek: I coulda went to Roc Nation, but then what am I getting out of that? Another $150,000 check advance, then I come out [and] sell 300,000 probably, somebody makes two or three million, and I gotta mess with the fact that they gon’ say yo you bricked out? Like that’s the industry. And that’s [with a label run by] my homie. Now if [it’s] somebody else, [they] might not even get a 150 [thousand dollar] advance, they probably go get 30. And plus I’d rather be on my own, fam. I been in the game, like you said a decade now, I know what to do; I know what not to do. It’s time for me to have my own record [label]. I got a lot of niggas behind me that’s ready to get they shot. And me being behind Jay, they ain’t gonna never get they shot. [Laughs]

DX: Just out of curiosity, how long you been in this particular mind frame? This just happened in the past couple years, it happened after the last album, like when did it…? 

 Memphis Bleek: Yeah after the last album. After “534″ I been about I gotta do my thing. Because I felt like “534″ was a people’s album. It was very opinionated, put it that way. Everything was like, “Yo how this sound? How you like this? What kind of beats should I use?” Everything was opinionated, like I was second-guessing everything. So I wanted people opinion to see what they was listening to now so I could get in that zone. So I feel like that was a people’s album and I let a good opportunity slip by. So that’s why I’m like – And on this [new] album, this is about me, this is about what I do, it’s The Process about what I went through all that to get to this point to have my own, and have my team and do…man, all that blood, sweat and tears, it finally paid off. So now it’s like you said, another shot in the arm, rejuvenated.

 

For the full interview click: “HHDX’s Memphis Bleek Interview: Strength & Loyalty”

Leave a Reply

